Saturday, June 22, 2024

Logo Central America Link

Northern Triangle moves 70 percent of regional trade

Monday, July 23, 2018

El Salvador's Legislative Assembly ratified the nation's membership of the customs union of what is known as the Northern Triangle of Central America. The other Triangle countries are Guatemala and Honduras.

The government said that the decision "is a historic step for El Salvador and represents the most transcendental advance that the country has taken in the economic integration of Central America".

With the addition of El Salvador, the three countries are reckoned to more about 70 percent of all trade within Central America.