Monday, March 4, 2024

Logo Central America Link

Panama and Costa Rica poised for new Alliance

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Panama and Costa Rica maintain their status as observers in the Pacific Alliance, is being officially founded today.

The members of the Alliance are Mexico, Colombia, Peru and Chile. Their aim is to strengthen trade among themselves, as well as establish a link with Asia.

Costa Rica only needs to sign a free trade agreement with Colombia to become a full member. Panama needs to sort out an agreement with Mexico which was suspended in 2003, but expects to become a member by 2013.

Full story (in Spanish)