Monday, September 25, 2023

Logo Central America Link

Peace declared after 20 years of banana war

Friday, November 9, 2012

The banana war, a 20-year long dispute over trade tariffs, has finally come to an end after the European Union signed an agreement with 10 Latin American countries.

The agreement means Europe will be committed to reduce banana import tariffs from countries that include Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama and Venezuela.

The dispute started in 1991, when Costa Rica filed a complaint to the World Trade Organization stating the European Union gave preferential treatment to imports from former European colonies.

Full story (in Spanish)